I, Michael Hwang, Chief Justice of the Dubai International Financial Centre Courts,

Having reviewed —

Dubai Law No. 9 of 2004 in respect of the establishment of the DIFC, as amended by Law No. 7 and 14 of 2011;
Dubai Law No. 12 of 2004 in respect of the Judicial Authority at the DIFC, as amended by Law No 16 of 2011;
DIFC Law No. 10 of 2004 in respect of the DIFC Courts (“DIFC Court Law”);
DIFC Courts Order No. 2 of 2007 establishing the Small Claims Tribunal (“SCT”);
DIFC Courts Order No. 1 of 2010 — Limits of Jurisdiction;
Practice Direction No. 2 of 2010 — SCT Judge; and
Part 53 of the Rules of the DIFC Courts

And Whereas —

(A) The DIFC Court Law authorises the Chief Justice of the DIFC Courts, where he considers it appropriate, to set up and administer Tribunals of the DIFC Courts, and to authorise rules for their administration, which shall be set out in the Rules of Court (Article 14(3)).


(B) The SCT was established pursuant to DIFC Courts Order No. 2 of 2007 issued by Chief Justice Sir Anthony Evans.


(C) The Rules of the DIFC Courts (the “RDC”) have been enacted by His Highness The Ruler of Dubai pursuant to Article 31(1) of the Court Law and contain at Part 53 the rules relating to the SCT; and


(D) The SCT is recognised as a mechanism for the prompt and cost-efficient hearing and determination of claims within the jurisdiction of the DIFC Courts.


Now I hereby order and direct as follows

(1) Judicial Officers Maha Al Mehairi and Nassir Al Nasser shall be appointed as members of the SCT.


(2) This Order shall take effect from the date of signature. Order No. 2 of 2007 shall remain in full force and effect save as amended by this Order. This Order shall be known as The DIFC Small Claims Tribunal (Members of the SCT) Order, Order No. 1 of 2014.


Chief Justice Michael Hwang

Dated: 06 February 2014